Top 5 Biggest/Largest Cricket Stadiums in India 2020

Top 5 Biggest/Largest Cricket Stadiums in India 2020

Top 5 Biggest/Largest Cricket Stadiums in India 2020. The complete list of the top 5 biggest cricket stadiums in India. Top 5 Biggest/Largest Cricket Stadiums in India 2020.

Cricket in India is celebrated as a festival. A lot of people find their good mood in cricket and watching it live gives them pleasure. The craze for the Cricket among the fans is so immense that sometimes they come against each other during the Indian Premier League (IPL).

India owns 5 cricket stadiums which are listed in the world’s top 10 biggest/largest Cricket Stadiums. Here we brought to you India’s top 5 Biggest/Largest Cricket Stadiums 2020.

Top 5 Biggest/Largest Cricket Stadium 2020:

5. M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai:

Seating Capacity: 55,000.

The stadium located in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India is home to Tamil Nadu Ranji Team and IPL’s Chennai Super Kings. M.A. Chidambaram Stadium is the second oldest cricket stadium in India after Kolkata’s Eden Garden. It was established in 1916.

This cricket ground is named after former BCCI president M.A. Chidambaram. Most of the fans know this ground as Cheapuk, home to MS Dhoni-led CSK.

Cheapuk hosted its first ever test match on 10th February 1934. The ground has a seating capacity of 55,000 and is almost found full during the IPL matches.

4. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad:

Seating Capacity: 55,000.

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium is located in Uppal, Hyderabad, Telangana. This ground was established late in the year 2003 and is home ground to IPL’s Sunriesrs Hyderabad and Hyderabad Cricket Association.

With a seating capacity of 55,000, the ground is known for its turn in the pitch. All the home games of Hyderabad are hosted in Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium. The two ends in this ground are named as Pavilion end and North End (VVS Laxman End).

3. Naya Raipur Cricket Stadium, Raipur:

Seating Capacity: 65,000.

The newly built Cricket Stadium is the third largest cricket stadium in India while fourth largest in the world. Raipur Cricket Stadium was built in 2008 and is situated in Raipur, Chhattisgarh.

Raipur Cricket Ground is not a permanent home for any of the IPL franchises but is declared as the second home for Delhi Capitals. This ground has an enormous seating capacity of approximately 65,000 spectators.

2. Eden Gardens, Kolkata:

Seating Capacity: 68,000.

Eden Gardens Kolkata
Eden Gardens Kolkata | Image – Sportsmatik

“The Mecca of Indian Cricket”, Eden Gardens is the oldest Cricket ground in India. Eden Gardens is located in Kolkata, West Bengal, and is home to Shahrukh owned IPL Franchise, Kolkata Knight Riders.

Eden Gardens is the second largest Cricket Stadium in Indian while third-largest in the world after Sardar Patel Stadium and Melbourne Cricket Ground. It has a seating capacity of 68,000 fans at a time.

Eden Garden offers one of the quickest outfield in India and is often called the “Batsmen’s Paradise”.

1. Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad:

Seating Capacity: 110,000.

Motera Cricket Stadium, Ahmedabad
Motera Cricket Stadium, Ahmedabad

The largest and biggest cricket stadium in the world, Motera Stadium officially known as Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. This ground was constructed in 1983 and is newly formed in 2020.

Motera Stadium is owned by Gujrat Cricket Association and hosted many Tests, ODIs, and T20Is.

It has a seating capacity of huge 110,000 spectators and is the largest in the world in terms of seating capacity.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: Top 5 Players Chennai Super Kings CSK should retain in IPL 2021 Auctions